In Oaxaca, 24 people from the LGBTQ community are running for local city council seats


OAXACA, Oax. – In the current electoral process in Oaxaca, members of the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transvestite, Transsexual, Transgender, Intersex, and Queer (LGBTQ) community participate with 12 candidates for a local council.

Of this number of candidatures, 6 are by the principle of relative majority and 6 of proportional representation, which adds up to 24 people between owners and alternates.

Gustavo Meixueiro Nájera, president of the State Electoral and Citizen Participation Institute of Oaxaca (IEEPCO), stated that the formal inclusion of this population group in the electoral process is derived from a citizen’s judgment.

Hence, the Electoral Court of Oaxaca ordered that the quotas of the 9 parties and an electoral coalition include people who belong to the LGBTQ community, which is why registration deadlines were extended to comply with them.

In 2018 elections, 17 transgender candidates nominated

In Oaxaca, it is not the first time that candidates have been nominated to represent the LGBTQ community. In the 2018 electoral process, 17 people were registered, although in some cases they were accused of posing as members of this community just to comply with the corresponding quotas.

However, in that election, the PRD nominated Felina Santiago and Mística as transgender candidates in the 20 electoral district with head in Juchitán.

In the 2020-2021 electoral process there are 12 candidates

The parties that nominated candidates by the relative majority are Morena, Fuerza Por México, Progressive Social Networks, Encuentro Solidario Party, and the two local Popular Unity and Nueva Alianza Party.

Likewise, those that nominated candidates for proportional representation are the Going for Mexico coalition, the Green Ecologist Party of Mexico, the Citizen Movement, and the Labor Party.

In this way, the Going for Oaxaca coalition, which is made up of the PRI-PAN-PRD, registered 3 formulas for proportional representation made up of: Litzy Mariel Medina Hernández and Lizeth Cruz Galindo, owner and alternate; Nelly Pérez Olivera and Yoselin Tessy Olivera Aguilar; Pedro Roberto Gómez Montealegre and Tomás de Jesús Lara Enríquez.

The Green Ecologist Party of Mexico registered a proportional representation formula made up of Cristian Antonio Torres Garfias and Héctor Nicolás Medina Zamudio.

Meanwhile, the Labor Party registered a proportional representation formula made up of Luis Ángel Ramírez Flores and Eugenio Herrera Sarabia.

En Oaxaca, buscan una diputación local 24 personas de comunidad LGBTTTIQ

For its part, Movimiento Ciudadano also registered a proportional representation formula made up of Roberto Juárez Sánchez and Emanuel García García.

The local Popular Unity party postulated the formula by a relative majority in the local electoral district 03, Loma Bonita, made up of Karla Díaz Herrera and Nidia López Alacio.

The Morena party postulated a formula in electoral district 15, Santa Cruz Xoxocotlán, made up of Nancy Natalia Benítez Zárate and Reyna del Carmen Quiroz Enríquez.

The Nueva Alianza Oaxaca Party postulated in the 16th electoral district, Zimatlán de Álvarez, the formula made up of Anthony López García and Pedro Antonio Quevedo Maces.

The Encuentro Solidario Party postulated in electoral district 17, Tlacolula de Matamoros, the formula made up of Teódulo Domínguez Sánchez and Fredy Antonio López Sarmiento.

Progressive Social Networks registered in electoral district 17, Tlacolula de Matamoros, the formula of Aníbal Santiago Gómez and David Ruiz López.

Fuerza por México registered the formula in electoral district 20, Juchitán de Zaragoza, to William Aquino Esteban and Gabriel Juan López.


The Oaxaca Post